10/366 – Turn On Tune In Drop Out

10/366 - Turn On Tune In Drop Out

I’ve wanted to attempt shooting the pixels on a TV screen for a while and tonight I thought I’d give it a try. I learned rather quickly this is a lot harder than I expected. I set my camera up just an inch or so from the TV screen, a large screen LED HDTV which I had been watching a hockey game on, I paused it and used the bright ice surface as a target (not that it matters since at the pixel level it looks nothing like ice). I needed a tripod and even then it was extremely tough getting the right focus (focus rails would have been a good thing to have and also if I used my remote it would have helped as well, I did use Mirror Up mode which made a difference in keeping things a little more stable). So yea that’s that, I loaded up all my extension tubes (25mm, 12mm, 20mm, 36mm) and my 1.7tc which I then mounted my reversing ring on and mounted a 20mm f/2.8 on there which got me super close.

Photo Details: Nikon D700, 20mm f/2.8 reversed on a Nikon 1.7tc on a Kenko Uniplustube 25DG on 3 Zeikos tubes (12, 20, 36) @ f/4 on the lens, 1/30th, iso 1600.

One thought on “10/366 – Turn On Tune In Drop Out

Leave a Reply

