9/366 – $20 bill

9/366

I got some new toys today in the form of a set of 3 extension tubes. I’ve wanted a set of tubes for a while but never took the plunge til now. I had a Kenko tube which I liked and the thought of stacking 3 more on top if it was too much to resist so I went ahead and ordered a set of 3. I decided to go with the Zeikos tubes rather than the Kenko ones b/c they were less than half the price. I know there’s not much that goes into these tubes which is why I just couldn’t justify the price tag on the Kenko ones (nearly $200, no thanks, way too much for something that doesn’t even have any glass in it). The Zeikos are all plastic, mounts and all, which is why they’re so cheap (and I imagine the Kenko ones have metal mounts like the 1 Kenko tube I have). I don’t mind the plastic mounts b/c I know it’s not something I’m going to be leaving on my camera and hanging from my side, I just put them on when I plan to use them and take them off when I’m done, so the plastic construction is plenty strong for that.
Anyways, I decided to keep it simple for the first shots with this set up, I mounted the 3 Zeikos tubes (a 12mm, 20mm, and 36mm) on my 25mm Kenko tube and then mounted my Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro lens on that which got me really close in. I thought I’d just shoot some paper money and started with a one dollar bill, after a few shots I switched to a $20 (I’m a high roller) and really liked how the gold leaf “20” looked so that’s what we have here. One thing I quickly learned was that with all those tubes it causes some heavy vignetting in the corners, well more like cuts off the frame rather than vignettes, so I’ll have to keep tat in mind going forward and maybe just plan to crop (this was uncropped). All in all I’m happy so far with my extension tubes and plan on putting them to good use (next is a reversed lens mounted to all of the tubes).

Photo Details:
Nikon D700, Tamron 90mm f/2.8 @ f/64 on a Kenko Uniplustube 25DG and 3 Zeikos extension tubes (12mm, 20mm, and 36mm), 1/200th, iso 200.

Strobist:
1 sb-700 camera left in a Lumiguest LTP softbox at 1/2 power, triggered with CLS.

Leave a Reply

