6/366 – Bite Sized Mini Wheat

6/366 - Bite Sized Mini Wheat

A close up shot of a Frosted Mini Wheat (bite sized, since for some reason they don’t sell the normal Mini Wheats anymore which I liked much better). I’m not a big cereal person but when I must have cereal I do enjoy these (but they don’t come close to an egg sandwich or pancakes or french toast, etc etc… I love breakfast, and cereal doesn’t really satisfy me very much at all).
I set the mini wheat on a glass topped coffee table and used a 2 speedlight set up (see the bonus behind the scenes shot below). I had the main light in a Lumiquest LTP softbox which was pretty close, this made that light source ginormous compared to the subject which gave me some nice soft light. I then set a bare speedlight below the table at a very low power to throw a small amount of additional fill light on the bottom edge. I first tried the shoot with my reversed 35mm with tube and teleconverter but it was just too close, I liked getting more of the mini wheat in the shot so you could tell what it was so I decided to go with the Tamron 90mm macro lens along with the Kenko extension tube.

Photo Details: D700, Tamron 90mm f/2.8 with a Kenko Uniplustube 25DG @ f/64, 1/125th, iso 200.

Strobist:
1 sb-600 camera left in a Lumiquest LTP softbix at 1/2 power.
1 sb-700 beneath the glass table top angled up at 1/64th power.
Both triggered with RF-602’s.

Bonus Behind The Scenes Shot:
6/366A - BTS Set Up

4 thoughts on “6/366 – Bite Sized Mini Wheat

Leave a Reply

